The curriculum is the responsibility of the head teacher who consults teaching staff, the local authority and the various national committees. When you discuss your child’s progress with the class teacher, you will be able to see some of the books and materials used. 

The curriculum we use in the school is called “A Curriculum For Excellence.” It is about bringing life to learning and learning to life.  It has been introduced to raise standards of learning and teaching and help improve our children’s life chances.

It focuses on the importance of knowledge and skills.  It offers a broad and deep general education to S3 with options in the senior phase.  It promotes the ability to learn – a skill for life that will help young people go on to further study, to secure work and to navigate through life.

It brings real life into the classroom and takes lessons beyond the classroom.  It promises to support children in every way possible so that they can fulfil their potential and make the most of their opportunities.

All those working with children and young people will be responsible for delivering skills in literacy and numeracy  – skills that unlock other subjects and are vital in everyday life.

All staff will be responsible for young people’s health and wellbeing and for identifying the personal support a child needs on a day-to-day basis.  Parents can ask for help too.

Staff will work together to plan a child’s ‘learning journey’ from 3 to 18. They will ensure young people can learn in a way that works for them, at a pace they can cope with and with enough challenge to stretch them.  Staff will support them as they move up from nursery to primary, on to secondary and beyond.

There are new ways of assessing progress and ensuring children achieve their best; taking account of what children write, make, say and do.

Professionals can teach subjects more creatively, work together and with others, and share best practice, ideas and innovation. Ultimately, the aim is to improve our children’s achievements and life chances, to nurture successful learners, confident individuals, effective contributors and responsible citizens.

To support these four capacities our school curriculum will encompass the 7 Principles for Curriculum Design:

  • Challenge and Enjoyment
  • Breadth
  • Progression
  • Depth
  • Personalisation and choice
  • Coherence
  • Relevance

These Principles for Curriculum Design are delivered through outcomes and experiences in the following curricular areas:

  • Expressive arts
  • Languages and literacy
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Religious and moral education
  • Sciences
  • Social Subjects
  • Technologies

 Levels Of learning

The experiences and outcomes are grouped into 5 levels

Early – the pre-school years and P1 or later for some

First – to the end of P4, but earlier or later for some

Second – to the end of P7, but earlier or later for some

Third/Fourth – S1 to S3, but earlier for some

Senior Phase – S4 to S6 and college or other means of study

For further information parents can find out more at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *