All posts by Mrs. Wyllie

S2 Health Day – Looking Good, Feeling Great

Our S2 pupils enjoyed a fantastic day of health and wellbeing activities in school on Tuesday 9th June.  The day started with a motivational address from Don Ledingham, Director of Education and Children’s Services followed by a wake up session by our own Mr and Mrs Motivator (Mr Thomas and Mrs Pike).  Pupils then participated in 5 sessions including:

Ø  Aim … Fire  – Archery

Ø  And Relax … Meditation

Ø  Pilates

Ø  Belly Dancing

Ø  Boogie in the Daytime – Dance Mats

Ø  Fuel Food – Healthy Cooking

Ø  Games for Fitness

Ø  Herbal Medicine

Ø  Keep to the Beat – Guitar Hero

Ø  Kidd the Builder – Can you fix it – Problem Solving

Ø  Mr McKay’s Martial Mayhem – Karate

Ø  Spots, Skin and Sweat – Superdrug

Ø  The Drugs don’t work – Drugs Advice

Ø  You Booze, you lose – Alcohol Advice

A huge thanks to all staff who ran sessions and accompanied groups.  We are also very grateful to Clare Demarco and her team from Superdrug, David Fenwick of the Integration Team, John Cowan of the Police, Audrey Cowan of ABEL, Val Minty, Juliet Mosson and Napier University for running sessions.

Prizegiving 2009 – Sports Awards

The following pupils will receive Sports Awards at the Prizegiving Ceremony on Tuesday 16th June.

1st year girls Athletics Winner                    Katie Cochrane

1st year boys athletics Winner                     Lewis Jarron

2nd year girls athletics winner                     Emmellie Young, Brodie Sandilands

2nd year boys Athletics Winner                   Douglas Horne

3rd year girls Athletics Winner                   Karen Munro

3rd year boys Athletics Winner                   Nicky Garrity

Scottish Schools Quaich for Badminton        Representative: Fraser Whillins

Youth Games                                               Representative Ami Jane Russell

Girls East of Scotland Football                   Representative Sam Cunningham

East Lothian 1st year hockey winners            Representative Katie Cochrane

East Lothian 2nd Year hockey winners          Representative Chelsea Anderson

Prestonpans Community Shield u14s              Representative Cameron McSorley

East Lothian  Girls S1-3 football                 Representative Hannah Bruce

East Lothian s1 Football                              Representative Lewis Tulloch

Outstanding Girl Performer                        Alex Dickenson

Outstanding Boy Performer                         Ryan Bathgate


Prizegiving 2009

Please find below a list of Prizewinners this academic year.  The Prizegiving Ceremony will take place on Tuesday 16 June 2009.

Prizewinners 2009

S1 Academic Prizes and Certificates of Distinction

Julia Gribbin, Cameron Wyllie

S1 Academic Prizes

Bronwyn O’Neill, Ashton Ritchie, Jenny Tran, Craig Munro, Rachel Lannon, Kristina Burns

S1 Certificates of Distinction

Eilidh Alexander, Ailie Inverarity, Courteney Ritchie, Rachael Milne, Michael Hill, Tegan Stewart, Laura Cunningham, Michael King, Connor Woods, Africa Buchanan, Emma Calderhead, Cameron Watt, Nicollette Blair, Louissa Robertson, Kieran Taafe

S2 Academic Prizes and Certificates of Distinction

Amy Kerr, Rebecca Muir, Cameron McSorley, Brodie Sandilands, Clara Owen

S2 Academic Prizes

Calum Satterley, Anna Wright, Finlay Richardson

S2 Certificates of Distinction

Shona Bell, Anna Devine, Lara McKirdy, Brogan Garrity, Kirsty Edwards, Craig Law, Louise Bain, Emmelie Young, Vanessa Bartie, Lindsey Black, Alexander Caughey, Alanna MacFarlane, Graham Turner, Adam Vince

S3 Academic Prizes and Certificates of Distinction

Jack Longmuir

S3 Academic Prizes

Taylor McKillop, Kate Wilson, Ricki Scott, Callum Price, Emma Cullen, Rebecca Atkins, Sean Gaffney, Scott Robertson, Neil Wyllie

S3 Certificates of Distinction

Gerard O’Brien, Morgan MacColl, Katie White, Emma Flockhart, Mark Singer,

Kimberley Thomson, Fraser Johnston James Porteous, Ben Harvie, Michael McKirdy, Rachel Murdoch

S4 Academic Prizes and Certificates of Distinction

Brian Dickson, Jennifer McCraw, Alex Dickenson, Jennifer Walker, Stuart Morgan, Andrew O’Brien

S4 Academic Prizes

Ross Currie, Neil Moyes

S4 Certiticates of Distinction

Ellen Whillans, Kirsty McLeod, Louise Dobie, William Lawson, Bethany Eeles, Samantha Naylor, Keir Stewart

Dux of S4

Brian Dickson and Neil Moyes

S 5 Academic Prizes and Certificates of Distinction

Catherine Martin

S5 Academic Prizes

Iain Richardson, Darren Watson, Sean Coyle, Katie Hill, Marna Doidge

S5 Certificates of Distinction

Amanda Norris, Lisanne Viersen, Caitlin McCusker

S6 Prizes for Academic Excellence and Certificates of Distinction

Euan Doidge, Jamie Docherty, Gylen Odling, Grant Richardson

S6 Certificates of Distinction

Laura Higgins, Louise Baldie, Ami Johnston, Sharon Davie, John Kong, Alison Coull,Calum Daly

David Fisher, Scott Grant, Alister Guiney, David Black, Louise Laing,

Fraser Moodie, Catriona Oliver

Peter Ford Award

Euan Doidge

Dux of the School

Iain Richardson


Newsletter: Christmas 2008

[kml_flashembed movie=”” fvars=”mode = preview ; docName = plhs_newsletter_xmas_2008 ; documentId = 081217231437-1cb85dab899c4a549193f3e35328bcac ; autoFlip = true ; backgroundColor = cc3333″ width=”378″ height=”280″ /]

The Christmas 2008  Newsletter is also available to read here. Christmas Newsletter 2008

If you would like to download a pdf copy click here.

If you would prefer a paper copy these can be obtained at the school office.

The Christmas Concerts 2008

Two fantastic evenings at Preston Lodge Christmas Concert

The Annual Christmas Concert took place on the evenings of the 9th and 10th December. Once again the musical talent of the young people of Preston Lodge was on display. To a packed house, the singers, dancers and musicians of all ages entertained us with a variety of acts of many genres.

[kml_flashembed movie="" width="440" height="320" wmode="transparent" /]

The Christmas Concert Charity Raffle raised £423 this year. All the money will be donated to charity. We would again like to thank the following local businesses for their generous contributions.

Longniddry Golf Club

Musselburgh Racecourse

Royal Musselburgh Golf Club

Jules Health and Beauty

Edinburgh Rugby

Skin and Tonic

The Filling Station

Strawberry Corner

Viv Strachan and pupils.

We would also like to thank staff who supported the event in any way, without all your help it would not have run so smoothly.

For more photographs from the Concert click here

East Lothian Food Festival – Winners again!!

East Lothian Food FestivalCongratulation to Ashley Buchanan and Christie Sinclair on winning the East Lothian Food Festival “Young Chef of the Year” on Friday afternoon.

They worked extremely hard and thoroughly deserved their win.

This is the fourth year in a row that Preston Lodge have won the competition. The Home Economics department is really proud of their achievement.

Well done!

Read the East Lothian Courier article here.